Celebrating Excellence & Integrity


Governor Ortom, Dankwambo, Turaki, Suswam, Ned Nwoko Scale through Senate primaries

No fewer than 15 aspirants stayed away from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Senate primaries in Akwa Ibom yesterday.

They said their action was due to a subsisting court order by the Federal High Court Abuja against the use of ad-hoc delegates for the exercise.

In a petition to the chairman PDP National Assembly Senate Primary Election Committee, one of the aspirants, Mr. Inibehe Okori, said he would not violate the court order by participating in the primary.
Okori, an aspirant for Akwa Ibom Northwest (Ikot Ekpene), said in a statement: “It is my conviction that no party can legitimately make use of the Ad hoc delegates for the primaries before the determination of the matter before the court.”

Another aspirant, Ephraim Inyang-Eyen for Akwa Ibom South (Eket) Senatorial District also issued a similar statement.

He said: “Myself, my agent and supporters, therefore, shall not participate in the nomination exercise as delegates to be so used by the party are not recognised by the laws of the land.”

However, the exercise took place at designated centres for Akwa Ibom South (Eket), Akwa Ibom Northwest (Ikot Ekpene) and Akwa Ibom Northeast (Uyo) Senatorial districts.
The exercise did not hold in the five states of the Southeast due to the Monday sit-at-home. It will hold today.

A member of the PDP’s Zonal Working Committee told our correspondent that the party would not risk the lives of its members.

In Imo, the party blamed the inability to hold the exercise on an unreconciled delegate list, which also affected the House of Assembly and House of Representatives primaries.

Statutory delegates were said to have been excluded.

The Senator representing Ondo Central Senatorial District, Patrick Akinyelure, lost his bid to return to the Senate. He lost at the party primary by polling 58 votes.

He was defeated by a Senior Advocate of Nigeria, Ifedayo Adedipe, who got 82 votes.

A former state Chairman of the Ondo PDP, Clement Faboyede came third by garnering 57 votes.

Adedipe said it was the first time he would be contesting for an elective office.

Immediate past Deputy Governor, Agboola Ajayi, defeated incumbent Senator Nicholas Tofowomo to clinch the Ondo South Senatorial District.

Agboola polled 78 votes while Senator Tofowomo got 74 votes.

In Ondo North Senatorial District, Mr. Adetokunbo Modupe secured the PDP’s ticket by defeating Prince Folunso Adefemi.

Modupe scored 124 votes to defeat Prince Adefemi who scored 93 votes.

Deputy Governor, Mrs. Ipallibo Harry Banigo, won the ticket for the Rivers West Senatorial District.

Ipalibo, who hails from Degema Local Government Area, scored 264 votes to clinch the party’s ticket for Rivers West.

The primary also produced Allwell Onyesoh as the candidate of the PDP for Rivers East.

Onyesoh, who hails from Etche Local Government Area, scored 270 votes to earn him the senatorial flag of the party.

The party also gave its ticket for the Rivers Southeast Senatorial District to a former House of Representatives member, Barinada Mpigi.

The Publicity Secretary of PDP, Sydney Tambari Gbara, described the exercise as peaceful, saying the consensus method was used in some areas to elect the candidates.

In Delta, Chief Ighoyota Amori won the primary for Delta Central Senatorial District.
He defeated his closest rival, Chief John Nani, a former commissioner in Delta State.

He polled 142 votes against the 123 scored by Chief Nani.

In Delta North, Prince Ned Nwoko, a former House Representatives member, won the ticket.

Nwoko defeated Paul Osaji with 242 votes. Osaji polled 67 votes.

In Delta South, ex-Chairman, Board of Delta State Oil Producing Areas Development Commission (DESOPADEC), Micheal Diden won the ticket for Delta South Senatorial District, polling 176.

In Niger South, Peter Ndalikali Jiya polled 125 votes; Baba Shehu Agaie polled 78 votes while Senator Mustapha Sani Wadada polled 61 votes.

In Niger East, Ibrahim Isyaku polled 277 votes while Mukhar Ahmed polled 25 votes. There were four invalid votes.

The primary in Gombe ended with a surprise appearance of Senator Danjuma Goje of the All Progressives Congress (APC) on the ballot sheet for the Gombe Central primary.

Former Governor Hassan Dankwambo emerged as the candidate for Gombe North through consensus.

Tony Yaro emerged as the candidate for Gombe South with 59 votes, defeating Binta Bello, who scored 57.

In Gombe Central, Abubakar Aliu emerged as the candidate with 59 votes, beating his opponent Muhammadu Aliu Baba who got three votes.

In Oyo, former Chief of Staff to the Oyo State Governor, Chief Bisi Ilaka, won Oyo Central Senatorial District primary election, with 322 votes, while his close rival Wale Adegoke got 36 votes.

Mogaji Joseph Tegbe won the Oyo South ticket. He was unopposed.

Other Senatorial candidates include: Chief Bisi Ilaka (Oyo Central) won with 322 votes.

Akinwale Akinwole popularly known as Wolekanle won the Oyo North ticket. He polled 414 votes out of a total of 415 delegates.

In Kwara, former Minister of Sports, Malam Bolaji Abdullahi, won the Kwara Central Senatorial District poll.

A former senator, Rafiu Ibrahim won the Kwara South Senatorial District ticket.

In Benue, Governor Samuel Ortom and former Gabriel Suswam emerged as unopposed flag

bearers for Benue North West Senatorial Zone and Benue North East Senatorial Zone.

Former Jigawa State Governor Alhaji Ibrahim Saminu Turaki and two former members house of representatives, Alhaji Husaini Namadi and Alhaji Mustapha Habib emerged the flagbearers for the Jigawa Northwest, Northeast and Southeast Senatorial Zones.

Former Director General, National Orientation Agency (NOA) Mr Mike Omeri lost the Nasarawa South Senatorial primaries to a former Speaker of the House of Assembly, Mohammed Ogoshi Onawo.

Speaker of the Adamawa State House of Assembly, Aminu Iya Abbas, won the Senatorial ticket for Adamawa Central.

In Bayelsa, former Chairman of Ogbia Local Government Area, Ebiyoun Turner, emerged the flagbearer of the party for the Ogbia Federal Constituency.

He defeated three others, including the incumbent House of Representatives member, Fred Obua.

Turner scored a total of 16 votes to beat his closest rival, Mieteme Obodor, who scored 12 votes.

A former Commissioner for Information, Daniel Iworiso-Markson had seven votes, while the incumbent, Obua, scored six votes.

The Nation


Hit An Icon...Cool to share to any